About the Politicians in East Delhi

East Delhi Lok Sabha is one among the list of the seven constituencies in National Capital Territory of Delhi. It was established in the year 1966. It consists of 40 municipal wards and there are around 16 lakhs of voters in the Eastern Part of Delhi. Eastern part of Delhi, is one of the highly populated areas of Delhi. It includes the eastern area of Yamuna and other regions it includes are Preet Vihar, Gandhi Nagar, and Seelampur.

Gautam Gambhir is the current MP of East Delhi from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). During the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Gautam Gambhir defeated Arvinder Singh Lovely from INC or Indian National Congress. Gautam Gambhir has gained 55.35% of votes from the Eastern region of Delhi. Atishi Marlena from AAP also lost her seat during 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

During the year of 2014 of Lok Sabha Elections, there were around 1,675,789 voters. Out of 1,675,789, 887,050 were male voters, whereas 788,739 were females. During this year, around 17 candidates have taken part in the constituency and only one women candidate has participated in this year.

Some of the Past Politicians from East Delhi are:-

Dr. MaheishGirri: He won in the 16th Lok Sabha elections and he is from BJP party. He won during 2014 general elections and won by 47.83% of votes.

Sandeep Dikshit: He won 15th and 14th Lok Sabha elections and he is from INC party. He won during 2009 general elections and won by 60.41% of votes. During 14th Lok Sabha elections, he won by 56.22% of votes.

Lal Bihari Tiwari: He won in the 13th Lok Sabha elections and he is from BJP party. He won during 2014 general elections and won by 50.22% of votes.

The elections of MCD or Municipal Corporation of Delhi is divided into 12 zones and each zone is divided into three smaller municipal corporations which are North Delhi Municipal corporation, South Delhi Corporation, East Delhi Municipal corporation.

The elections of municipal are the major point of attraction for media, people of East Delhi and the politician parties from East Delhi as well. The MCD election was held during the year of 2017 and the areas that are included in the East Delhi Municipal Corporation are Shahdara South and Shahdara North. This area is filled with the voters from different religions and some of the people are from Hindu and Muslim category as well. This is the region, where people can find out all the advanced services in terms of health as well.

During 2017 of Municipal Elections, BJP or BharatiyaJanta Party won with the highest number of votes. From last 12 years, BJP is winning in the elections of MCD of Delhi. In the year 2017 of East Delhi MCD elections, BJP got 47 seats, AamAadmi Party or AAP got 12 seats, whereas INC or Indian national congress got 3 seats only.